VICROADS ASSOCIATION INC.

Reg No A0022250S

Minutes for 46th Annual General Meeting

Tuesday 25 March 2025 at Waverley RSL

1. Opening - Attendance

President David Jellie opened the meeting at 11.30 am and welcomed the following members in attendance:

David Jellie, John Wright, Jill Earnshaw, Ken Vickery, Jim Webber, Alan Mackinlay, Graham Gilpin PSM, Iris Whittaker, Noel Osborne, Patsy Kennedy, Nick Szwed, Tracee Piper, Martin Habgood, Sri Thangarajah, David Harris, Ted Barton, Richard Williams, Ken Sinclair, Merv Seeney, Alan Collins, Allison Pinto, John Harper, Brian Head and David Blore.

The quorum of 15 financial members was therefore exceeded with 24 members present.

Non-members, Rosslyn Wright and Kay Blore, also attended the meeting.

Graeme Stone joined the group for lunch.

2. Apologies

Apologies (13) were received from:

John Rebbechi, Ross Paul, Liz Pollock, Valerie Dripps, Gary Veith, Lloyd Rowe, Bruce Hartnett, Rick Anderson, Simon Eggleston, Phil Symons, Stan Hodgson, Ted Goddard, Innes Russell and Frank Brown.

3. Confirmation of minutes of 45th AGM, 14 March 2024

Minutes of the 45th AGM held on the 14 March 2024 were confirmed on the motion of Alan Mackinlay and seconded by Noel Osborne. Carried.

4. Annual Report 2023-2024: David Jellie - President

David read his last annual report as President. Jill Earnshaw moved and Noel Osborne seconded that the report be accepted. Carried.

5. Financial Statement 2024-2025: Ken Vickery - Treasurer

The Hon. Treasurer, Ken Vickery, presented the attached Treasurer's report and the Financial Statement dated 10 March 2025 which has been audited by Doug Thompson. As at 28 February 2025 there is a closing balance of \$6,162.13 in the bank compared to \$5,467.52 on 28 February 2024. Noel Osborne moved and Patsy Kennedy seconded that the Financial Statement and Audit Statement be adopted. Carried.

The Hon. Treasurer noted that the one-off lifetime payment for membership and use of direct debits rather than cheques had made management of the accounts considerably easier.

6. Correspondence relating to AGM (except apologies)

Three items of correspondence were received from Members in relation to matters for discussion at the AGM. Two related to Motion 1 - the wording of proposed Rule 2. The third sought clarification in relation to Motions 1 and 2 rather than put forward any suggestions.

7. Notice Of Motions (2)

Motion 1

Motion 1 - That the VicRoads Association adopt the Consumer Affairs Victoria Model Rules for an Incorporated Association dated 2023 including the proposed wording for proposed rules 1,2 and 3 as follows:

Rule 1 - Name

The name of the incorporated association is VicRoads Association Incorporated.

Rule 2 – Purposes

The purposes of the association are to provide an organization for former employees of the Roads Corporation and its predecessor organisations to

- [i] Maintain and foster friendship among members;
- [ii] Keep members informed of developments in the road sector;
- [iii] Do any such things as, in the opinion of the committee, will assist in the welfare and benefit of members.

Rule 3 – Financial Year

The financial year of the Association is each period of 12 months ending on 31st December.

John Wright moved the Motion which was seconded by Alan Mackinlay. The Motion was carried.

The President noted that the Committee would continue to review any matters raised by members in relation to the Association and the rules, such as those received ahead of the AGM, and would consider future changes if, and as agreed, required.

<u>Motion 2</u> – That, as required, the joining fee and membership subscription (currently a once -off payment of \$50) be fixed by members at the AGM. It was moved by Ken Vickery and seconded by Iris Whittaker that the joining fee and membership subscription be fixed at \$50 for the forthcoming year. Carried.

8. Election of General Committee 2025

The following nominations were received from existing Committee members:

President – John Wright

Hon. Secretary - Jill Earnshaw

Hon. Treasurer – Ken Vickery

General Committee – The following Committee Members indicated their willingness to continue - Graham Gilpin PSM, Nick Szwed, Alan Mackinlay, Iris Whittaker, Noel Osborne, Patsy Kennedy, Jim Webber, David Jellie

Nominations for the 2025 Committee were invited via the Newsletter. A new nomination was received from Allison Pinto.

The President reported that John Rebbechi had tended his resignation from the Committee having joined it in 2012. The President noted the significant contribution John has made to the Association. He thanked the remaining Committee Members for their willingness to continue and welcomed Allison to the Committee.

As the number of nominations is in accordance with the Committee size of 12 under the Rules, Ted Barton moved and David Harris seconded that the Committee as noted below be duly elected:

John Wright President

Jill Earnshaw Hon. Secretary

Ken Vickery Hon. Treasurer

Iris Whittaker Hon. Membership Secretary

Other Committee Members - Graham Gilpin PSM, Nick Szwed, Alan Mackinlay, Noel Osborne, Patsy Kennedy, Jim Webber, David Jellie and Allison Pinto

The motion was carried. The immediate past President, David Jellie, offered to assist both the newly elected President and the Committee any way he could through the transition period and the year ahead.

As the newly elected President, John Wright subsequently took over chairing the AGM, noting his commitment to supporting members and working with the Committee in the year ahead. He welcomed Allison Pinto to the Committee.

9. Appointment of Hon. Auditor

The Hon. Treasurer, Ken Vickery, advised that Doug Thompson had agreed to continue as Hon. Auditor. Iris Whittaker moved and Alan Mackinlay seconded that Doug Thompson be re-appointed auditor. Carried.

10. 2025 Program

The Hon. Secretary presented the 2025 program which includes both city and regional based activities. The Occasional Lunches at Doncaster Shoppingtown Hotel will continue as will the midyear lunch at Glen Waverley given its success in 2024.

Members will continue to be kept advised of the program and any changes via the Newsletter and emails direct to members.

11. General business

John Wright moved a vote of thanks to David Jellie, the immediate past President, for the continuing effective management of the Association over the last twenty one years, his editorial role on the Newsletter over the last twenty years and the very significant effort that he makes on members behalf.

A similar vote of thanks for his outstanding service was offered to Jim Webber as former Hon. Secretary of the Association from 2015 till April 2024. The twenty five year service of the current Hon. Treasurer was also recognized.

On behalf of the Committee and members, the President presented each with a framed certificate of appreciation to recognise their outstanding service contributions. Members were also advised that at the most recent meeting of the Committee it agreed to purchase lunch and a drink for these three Committee Members.

12. Closure

There being no further business the meeting closed at 12.10 pm after which members enjoyed a convivial lunch.

Jill Earnshaw 30/3/2025	5		
Minutes confirmed on	/	/2026	President